CEPII, Recherche et Expertise sur l'economie mondiale
Trade Unit Values (TUV)

2021 version: 2019 flows available


TUV provides trade unit values (in USD/ton) at the year – reporter – partner – product level. Products categories correspond to the 6-digit Harmonized System nomenclature, which allows for international comparisons. Unit values are available either as reported by the exporter (FOB, without transport costs) or as reported by the importer (CIF).

For more detailed explanations on the organisation and the content of the data, please read the documentation and the companion paper.

An harmonized version of the unit values in TUV, reshaped in a year – exporter – importer – product structure with a reconciliation method close to the one used to construct BACI, is proposed in the WTFC dataset.
 
 Methodology: a Short Description
Quantities provided in BACI sometimes result from operations performed by Comtrade to improve the data coverage. When this treatment is applied to the source data, the quantities are not well suited for the computation of unit values.

TUV provides more reliable unit values, constructed from the most disaggregated existing data (at the tariff line level). Unit values are computed at this very high level of precision, before being aggregated into 6-digits HS codes to allow for international comparisons. This method preserves the differentiation of unit values across flows within a product code.
 

Presentation

Reference document to mention
International Economics, N°128, Q4 2011

Berthou, A. & Emlinger, C. (2011)
The Trade Unit Values Database
CEPII Working Paper 2011-10

 


Download Page

register


 Person in charge
Pierre Cotterlaz

 Contact
pierre.cotterlazcepii.fr
licence-ouverte-open-licence

CEPII, Recherche et Expertise sur l'economie mondiale
Trade Unit Values (TUV)

Version 2021 : ajout des flux 2019


TUV fournit des valeurs unitaires (en USD/tonne) au niveau année - déclarant – partenaire – produit. Les produits sont définis selon la nomenclature Système Harmonisé 6-chiffres, permettant des comparaisons internationale. Les valeurs unitaires sont disponibles telles que déclarées par l’exportateur (FAB, hors coût de transport international) et telles que déclarées par l’importateur (CAF).

Pour des explications plus détaillées sur l’organisation et le contenu des données, consultez la documentation et le document de travail.

Une version harmonisée des valeurs unitaires de TUV, présentées sous le format année - exportateur - importateur - produit, avec une méthode de réconciliation proche de celle de BACI, est proposée avec la base WTFC.


 Méthodologie : une brève description

Les quantités fournies dans BACI résultent parfois d’un traitement réalisé par Comtrade pour améliorer la couverture de la base. Lorsque ce traitement est appliqué, les quantités ne sont pas adaptées pour le calcul de valeurs unitaires.

TUV fournit des valeur unitaires plus fiables, car construites à partir du niveau le plus fin existant (la ligne tarifaire). Les valeurs unitaires sont déterminées pour chaque produit avec ce degré élevé de précision, avant d’être agrégées selon les catégories de produits du Système Harmonisé 6 chiffres, afin de permettre des comparaisons internationales. Cette méthode préserve la différenciation des valeurs unitaires entre les flux au sein d’un produit.

Présentation

Référence à citer
International Economics, N°128, Q4 2011

Berthou, A. & Emlinger, C. (2011)
The Trade Unit Values Database
CEPII Working Paper 2011-10

 


Page de download

s'inscrire


 Responsable
Pierre Cotterlaz

 Contact
pierre.cotterlazcepii.fr
licence-ouverte-open-licence